Big Shot, Challenges, Just Add Ink

JAI # 162 – Technique Challenge

I have not posted anything for a couple of weeks for different reasons – but this week we have a great Just Add Ink challenge which I had heaps and heaps of fun putting together so I want to share it.

The Challenge is to use a Technique that you have not used before.  I chose to have a go at the Shaving Cream Technique.  At the time – to be honest – I did not even know what it was.  But I had had a few friends and people around me mention they wanted to have a go at it.  So off I went to find out about it.

After a bit of investigation and a trip to the Supermarket – I was ready.  Oh my – what alot of fun I had that afternoon……..we were up to our necks in Shaving cream – it was everywhere!!  But at least it smelt nice!

So what you do, is you get a plate (or I used a paper plate) and fill it with shaving cream.  Then although I know you will have urge to pick it up and plant it onsomeones face or head…..don’t!!  Get some re-inkers (different colours if you like) and put a few drops onto the shaving cream.  Then using a skewer or knife or fork – mix it up a bit to get the colours swirled around.  Once you are happy with it – get some card stock and press it into the foam.

Pull your cardstock out and wipe away any excess shaving cream with a paper towel.  You will find you have made some amazing patterned card.  It’s great!  And every piece you do is different.  I experimented with colours a bit and made some lovely patterns.  My 7 year old had a go too – it’s a great kids project too.  Anyway….enough chat – here is my project.

DSC00116 DSC00119  

I used Rich Razzleberry, Pretty in Pink and Perfect Plum on the flowers.  The leaves are Certainly Celery, More Mustard, So Saffron and Always Artichoke.   

So – have you got a technique you have been thinking about for a while?  Is there a technique that you want to have a go at?  Well – now is the time.  Go to Just Add Ink to see what the rest of the Design Team have put together – and then upload your technique project too.

5 thoughts on “JAI # 162 – Technique Challenge”

  1. It sounds like you heaps of fun Chantell 🙂 I love that you used two different colours to create your card. It really does create such a unique effect! xxx

  2. How much fun is this stuff Chantell? I played for hours the first time l tried it..:0) A lovely card and I love that you cut flowers from it, very effective! xxx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.