JAI # 121 – Just Add Pearls…. and a few other things!

June 7, 2012 at 11:04 pm 6 comments

I have not done any Blogging for a couple of weeks…..but I am back now!   Oh and I have so so much to tell you about… 

First up though – the challenge this week at Just Add Ink = Just Add Pearls.  
A couple of weeks ago I was working on putting some class idea’s together and my sister Nadine shared a technique with me that I had not done before – so that became the basis for my Just Add Pearls Card.

The new technique is in the background of this card – where I used some wax paper that I embossed with the Big Shot and then laid it between 2 layers of glossy card – then ironed it.  After that I rubbed it with ink – and this is the effect I got.  I really liked it and found the more ink I added – the better it looked.
Also – really loved these colours together too – Wisteria Wonder, Rose Red, Always Artichoke.

To view the other Just Add Ink DT projects and enter yours, visit Just Add Ink here.

Now – I enjoyed doing this technique so much that I made other cards with it too…….. here’s a Man one.

A word of warning to all those wanting to try this technique!!   MAKE SURE YOU SET UP YOUR IRON PROPERLY – WITH PROTECTION FOR SURROUNDING SURFACES!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah – you guessed right – I had a moment…….not sure if it was a Blonde moment, Senior moment or plain old stupidity moment………but you guessed it……. I ironed on the carpet and wrecked both the carpet and my iron (not that I use it much – hee hee).
However – I then had to own up and tell Mr Neil that I had done it!  And it’s not even in a spot I can hide with a mat – darn it!!  Lucky for me he kinda laughed…….. although I was not laughing.

Anyway………………I can not finish this post without giving a big Whoop whoop for where I was last week!!  Whoo hoooo Stampin Up Convention in Canberra – with about 450 other crazy SU lovers.

Man I had an awesome time – for many reasons – The Stamping (of course), the sneek peeks, the projects, the swaps – but mainly the people.  Geez I love my Stampin Friends.  Here are a few highlights.

1 – Meeting up with and spending time with my fabulous, talented and beautiful sister Nadine.

2 – Meeting and hanging with many of the amazing Just Add Ink Design Team…….. so so so great to meet them.

3 – Rooming with the Klass Act girls and Nadine

4 – Swaps

5 – Classes / Projects

6 – Fun, Fun, Fun

Entry filed under: Challenges, Just Add Ink. Tags: , , , , .

JAI # 118 – Just Add Mae! Pearls – Birthday Card

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trish  |  June 8, 2012 at 4:57 am

    You are right that colour combo looks great and you’ve done a fab job on the colouring too!

    ps it was lovely to meet you in person at convention 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Patrice  |  June 8, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Wow love that technique – shame about the iron on the carpet, sounds like something I’d do. So glad Neil laughed about it.

    Your card has turned out fabulously and the colours are striking.

    Was just THE BEST to spend time with you and Nadine last week. Wish we could do it more often.

    x

    Reply
  • 3. Bronwyn Eastley  |  June 8, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Hi Chantell. This card is so pretty. Love your colouring and the layout. I’m really pleased that you got to go to Convention this year. Thanks for sharing your pics.

    Reply
  • 4. Kim Badelt  |  June 8, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    Wow awesome technique Chantell – I just thought it was some gorgeous DSP! and its looks just perfect matched up with your delicate flowers. Glad your DH handled the iron mishap well! Was sooo nice to finally meet you and Nadine too last week – it was heaps of fun 🙂
    Kim xxx

    Reply
  • 5. Kim Carter  |  June 9, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    Awesome pic of you and Nadine — you both look amazing. I also love that techn and also the ship stamp set — I got mine when it first came out in the US. One of my fav manly sets and papers. Still to see all Nadine show’n’tell. Might see her tomorrow. Hugs xxx

    Reply
  • 6. Nikki Spencer  |  June 10, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    What an awesome technique Chantell, l really thought it was just ordinary DSP, both of your cards are lovely.
    It was so lovely spending time with you and Nadine at Convention, hug’s to you both for making it so much fun. xxx
    Lol at your ironing comment…l so hear you..:0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Garage Sale

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

Design Team

Just Add Ink Blog Hop

Categories

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 114,181 Visitors

