Just Add Ink # 75 – Colour Combo

July 7, 2011 at 9:01 pm 11 comments

Just Add Ink has a fantastic Colour Combo for you to try out this week…..I think I will use this colour combo again – cause I really like it.  Here it is…..

I have a little story about what I made this week, which I will get to in a minute.
Firstly though – let me show you what I made using these great colours.  I had been flicking through a few magazines a few weeks ago and saw some pictures that I had marked to use at inspiration at a later date….so I got out one of them and used it.

I stamped and clear embossed the swirly stamp from Baroque Motifs onto some Newsprint DSP and the sponged it with Soft Suede Ink.  I roughed up the edges a bit and then attached it to the Cherry Cobbler card stock.  I used Black Stays On to stamps on some acetate and then cut it so it only covers the bottom of the card.  (It’s probably hard to see here though).
I then used the Sewing Machine to stitch in Black Cotton around the card a few times……and this is where my little story starts…….

I got the Sewing Machine out – I had borrowed – and started to set it up.  After threading it – I started to sew…..but NO – it didn’t work.  All the cotton bunched up at the back.  I knew I must have threaded it wrong…..so started again……but that didn’t work – so I tried again………but that did not work.

Now this went on for some time…….like about a little over an hour!
I’m sure you can imagine how frustrated I was by this time – that’s right – ready to throw something……..but I didn’t.

My Husband then said he was off to bed….but I said I HAVE to finish THIS first!!
And quickly and calmly (although a bit annoyedly) explained what was going on.

Being THE MAN he goes…..Oh well would you like me to have a look?
I was just like……Humrph – if ya want.

And typical – no joke within about 3 or 4 minutes he had a bloomin thing working!!   Darn it!

So – once I had finished stitching – I then added my ribbon, Flower – made from the Fancy Flower, Boho Blossoms and Two-step Bird Punches – and Words.  Then mounted them on the Very Vanilla and Soft Suede Card.

I found these colours just worked so well together.  The Design Team have put together some beautiful projects too.  I hope you have a go at making some thing with them.  Go to Just Add Ink to check out the DT projects and show us yours.

Entry filed under: Challenges, Just Add Ink. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Fancy Folds Blog Hop – JAI 74 Just Add Ink # 76 – Inspiration

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brenda H  |  July 7, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Great card! Love how you brought it all together.

    Reply
  • 2. Paula Dobson  |  July 8, 2011 at 2:52 am

    All those elements on one card, and boy, does it work!! I feel your pain over the sewing machine – I think that is why I have resisted temptation up to this point, and not used that particular technique myself!! Love the Grunge/Vintage look of your card Chantell ♥

    Reply
  • 3. Mae Collins  |  July 8, 2011 at 6:03 am

    Chantell this card is great with all the different elements you have used. I like the effect of the embossed motif over the newsprint. Glad your hubby managed to help you get the sewing machine to work as the stitching looks good too. ♥

    Reply
  • 4. Theresa Prior  |  July 8, 2011 at 6:12 am

    What a funny (though frustrating…) story to go with this lovely card! Have a great weekend! Theresa x

    Reply
  • 5. Kathy Tanner  |  July 8, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    This is so gorgeously distressed Chantell. I love your flower, the sewing and the way you’ve embossed the dsp. A beautiful card!

    Reply
  • 6. Kim Badelt  |  July 8, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    What a gorgeous card Chantell you’ve really captured that vintage shabby look – and you added so many wonderful layers of ink nad texture. Glad you (and hubby) got the sewing machine to work – adds just the right touch.
    Kim

    Reply
  • 7. Bronwyn Eastley  |  July 9, 2011 at 8:29 am

    Well … all that frustration was worth it in the end – some great techniques here on your gorgeous, vintage style card.

    Reply
  • 8. Marlena M  |  July 10, 2011 at 7:18 am

    Oh wow. I love the flower, the distressing…everything about this card! 😉

    Reply
  • 9. Patrice  |  July 10, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Can imagine your frustration Chantell, such a funny story though. Typical that DH can take two minutes and fix! Your card was well worth it in the end though as it’s gorgeous. Love all your little details.

    Reply
  • 10. nikki spencer  |  July 10, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Oh Chantell…too funny! Definately worth the angst though, it’s a fabulous result! love all the different elements and that flower is gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 11. Alex Hughes  |  July 21, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Gorgeous card Chantell! Thanks for sharing (and well done to the hubby for fixing the machine 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 173 other followers

Just Add Ink Blog Hop

Categories

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 116,072 Visitors

