Fancy Folds Blog Hop – JAI 74

June 30, 2011 at 12:00 am 29 comments

Hi everyone…..welcolme to the Fancy Folds Blog Hop (JAI # 75).  Ohhh, this is so exciting – and I know you are just going to love seeing what all the girls have in store for you this week.

Joy Fold Card

For this Fancy Folds Blog Hop – I decided to do a Joy Fold Card.  I decided on this because, it’s pretty easy to do but quite effective.
The one I have put together for this Blog Hop is quite simple but I just really wanted to show the actual fold / technique. The steps I used to make this card and my dimensions are as follows……

Step One

I started with 2 pieces of Pacific Point card stock that make up the base of my card.
1 – 8 ¾ “ x 4” . I scored this at 5 ¾”
1 – 9” x 3”. I scored this at 4 ½”

The other pieces of card I have cut are the layers for decoration.  You could use one layer for this or DSP if you wish.
My dimensions are as follows:
Bashful Blue
1 – 5 ½” x 3 ¾”
2 – 4 ¼” x 2 ¾”

Whisper White
1 – 5 ¼” x 3 ½”
2 – 4” x 2 1/2”

Step 2

I layered and stuck the larger Bashful Blue and Whisper White pieces into my large Pacific Point piece. I stamped some Flowers and a Butterfly on the outside flap. These are from the Every Moment Stamp Set.

Step 3

I layered and stuck the Bashful Blue and Whisper White pieces inside my smaller Pacific Point piece. I stamped a Butterfly onto it. This will be the inside of your finished card.

Step 4

 I stamped and coloured some flowers onto the last Whisper White piece. This is the image that is going to be on the front of you finished card.

Step 5
 
I then layered and stuck the remaining Bashful Blue and my Flower piece to the outside of the small Pacific Point bit. This then kinda looks like a little card – that opens the wrong way. (Fold on the right hand side).
Then I put some adhesive on the back of the smaller card and stuck it to the inside centre of the large card. So when opened – it kinda looks like a card with an opening on both sides.

Step 6

Add a bit of ribbon and your done!

I hope you have a go at making a Joy Fold card – let me know if you do.

Now it’s time for you to move onto the next fabulous JAI DT member – Nikki, who has another awesome Fancy Fold for you to try.    Just click on the button below to take you there

Entry filed under: Blog Hop, Challenges, Just Add Ink. Tags: , , , .

JAI # 73 – Sketch Challenge Just Add Ink # 75 – Colour Combo

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie Watson  |  June 30, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Wow, you’re right simple and effective. Thanks for a great tutorial.

    Reply
  • 2. Paula Dobson  |  July 1, 2011 at 3:47 am

    That is such a pretty card Chantell, and using one of my favourite stamp sets too! You have put together a fabulous tutorial ♥

    Reply
  • 3. Delys  |  July 1, 2011 at 4:32 am

    Gorgeous card Chantell. I havent done one of these for aggggeees so must do one. Wonderful tutorial too

    Reply
  • 4. Marlena M  |  July 1, 2011 at 4:35 am

    This is pretty…thanks for the pics and measurements! 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Trish *SpringBlossom*  |  July 1, 2011 at 4:47 am

    You’re right it is a vary effective card!!! Great tutorial 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Bronwyn Eastley  |  July 1, 2011 at 5:45 am

    An awesome tutorial and one gorgeous card, Chantell. TFS.

    Reply
  • 7. Mae Collins  |  July 1, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Chantell with your gorgeous card and these simple and clear instructions you have inspired me to give this unique card fold a try…may be later today when I really wake up after last night’s efforts! ♥

    Reply
  • 8. Mae Collins  |  July 1, 2011 at 6:13 am

    Chantell with your gorgeous card plus the simple and clear instructions in your tutorial you have inspired me to give this unique card fold a try…may be later today when I wake up probably after last night’s efforts! ♥

    Reply
  • 9. Tania Gould  |  July 1, 2011 at 6:45 am

    Oh that’s what they’re called – I love “Joy Fold” cards!!! Great job Chantell!

    Reply
  • 10. ozzimum92  |  July 1, 2011 at 8:09 am

    I agree the Joy Fold Card is easy to make & gets many oohs & aaahs. I love your colour combo – makes me want to try one now. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 11. Kathy Tanner  |  July 1, 2011 at 8:27 am

    A beautiful card Chantel. Love the colours you’ve used and the flowers are so gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 12. karen southwell  |  July 1, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Oh very nice indeed, colour choice is amazing and yes I do like water colouring….hmmmm

    Reply
  • 13. Estela Oliveira  |  July 1, 2011 at 11:59 am

    This card format I did not know. It’s very beautiful.
    Estela Oliveira

    Reply
  • 14. Theresa Prior  |  July 1, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    Thank you so much for showing me a new fold technique – I’m new to all of this and I really do enjoying learning and trying new things! Have a great weekend. Theresa

    Reply
  • 15. nikki spencer  |  July 1, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Fab fold Chantell, very simple-awesome result. Beautiful colouring too!
    A great easy to follow tutorial, will be having a go for sure!

    Reply
  • 16. Lai-Yoke  |  July 1, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Fun fold card and great coloring on the flowers too!

    Reply
  • 17. Kim Badelt  |  July 1, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    Great tutorial for a very clever but surprisingly simple card fold Chantell. Love the colours you used 🙂
    Kim

    Reply
  • 18. Susan Joyce  |  July 1, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Pretty card Chantell, must use this fold more often.

    Reply
  • 19. The Navy Wife  |  July 2, 2011 at 6:42 am

    This is just gorgeous and so simple! Love it! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Patrice  |  July 2, 2011 at 11:45 am

    This is such a pretty card Chantell, and I love your simple to understand instructions. Can’t wait to try one of these.

    Reply
  • 21. bronheslop  |  July 2, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Chantell, this is beautiful! Thank you for reminding me about this style of card… I do like it!

    Reply
  • 22. Tui Nathan  |  July 3, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    This is soo nice Chantell, I love your coloring and the blue combo is so fresh and perfect for the image. I have made this fold card only once, thank you for bringing it back!!!

    Reply
  • 23. creativesprite  |  July 3, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Lovely Chantell,
    I am begining to like Pacific Point a bit more after making this card.
    Thank you for sharing your creative talents.

    Reply
  • 24. Cheryl  |  July 3, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Haven’t done this fold before. Looks like a fun one that I’m sure I’ll be trying soon. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 25. Helen H  |  July 4, 2011 at 6:25 am

    Very pretty Chantell. The blue combo looks great & the little butterfly inside is a sweet touch. 🙂

    Reply
  • 26. Estela Oliveira  |  July 4, 2011 at 10:21 am

    Chantell
    This is a pretty card.
    It’s very beautiful.

    Reply
  • 27. Deborah Minter  |  July 4, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Beautiful card! love the colouring….

    Reply
  • 28. Andrea  |  July 5, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    Sometimes the simple things are the sweetest! Love your JOY FOLD … and the colours are so soft and “springy”. (I am over this wind … bring on spring!!!) Hugs xxaxx

    Reply
  • 29. Joyfold Card | Penny's Papercraft Paradise  |  October 19, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    […] style, a joyfold card.  There are lots of great demonstration online, my card was inspired by this site.  This card was made for a friend’s 50th birthday (not mentioning any names… Wayne […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 175 other followers

Just Add Ink Blog Hop

Categories

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 114,893 Visitors

